How Do I Call the Hotline?
Child abuse reports can be called in to a hotline 24 hours a day, including weekends and holidays. These calls are answered by staff of the New York State Office of Children and Family Services in Albany, New York. If the State registers a report, it is immediately electronically transmitted to the Monroe County CPS Team for investigation and follow-up. The following chart shows the local and state coverage of the Hotline. The following chart shows the contact numbers for mandated reporters.
|NYS Child Abuse and Maltreatment Register
General public, call:
Calls are answered by the New York State Office of Children and Family Services Intake staff at the State Central Registry in Albany
Child Abuse and
Reports registered by the State Register are immediately transmitted to Monroe County CPS.
*For non-mandated reporters: concerned citizens, family members, neighbors, or others who are not mandated reporters should call the reporting number for the general public at 1-800-342-3720.
What else do I need to do?
You are required by State Law to fill out and send in a special form called the LDSS - 2221A Report of Suspected Child Abuse & Maltreatment. It may help you to fill out the form first so you know what to expect when you call; but this is optional. After you call, you must complete the form and mail it within 48 hours to:
Monroe County CPS Intake
111 Westfall Road, Room 562
Rochester, New York 14692
The required form may be available at your work site. You can get a form by calling the Hotline at 585-461-5690. You can also download a PDF copy of the required form. Download a PDF copy of the form