Who Is Mandated To Report?



New York State Law mandates five main types of professionals to call the Child Abuse Hotline and report if they have a reasonable suspicion that a child has been abused or neglected. Becasue the work of mandated reporters brings them into contact with children and/or families, they are in a key position to help protect children from harm.

Check this list to see if your professional responsibilities make you a mandated reporter in New York State. Talk to your supervisor or employer to be sure of your status as a mandated reporter. You can also call Monroe County Child Protective Services (CPS) at 585-461-5690 to talk it over. If you do not see your profession on this list, you can still report your concerns about child abuse and maltreatment as a voluntary reporter.


List of Mandated Reporters

Mandated Reporters in New York State
1. Human Services
  • Social workers
  • Social services workers
  • Creative arts therapists
  • Marriage and family therapists
  • Psychoanalysts
  • Behavior analysts and behavior analyst assistants
  • Mental health professionals
  • Psychologists
  • Substance abuse counselors
  • Alcohol abuse counselors
  • Publicly-funded emergency shelter employees
  • Residential domestic violence program employees
 2. Child Care Providers
  • School age child care workers
  • Family or group family day care providers
  • Day care center workers
  • Employees in residential care facilities
  • Volunteers in residential care facilities
  • Any other child care or foster care worker
  • Directors of children’s overnight or day camps
 3. Education Providers
  • Teachers and assistants
  • School administrators
  • School support staff
  • Preschool staff
  • Guidance counselors
  • School psychologists
  • School social workers
  • School nurses
  • School administrators
  • School personnel required to hold a teaching, coaching or administrative license or certificate
 4. Health Care Providers
  • Hospital personnel engaged in admission, examination, care, or treatment
  • Registered nurses
  • Physician assistants
  • Physicians and surgeons
  • Residents and interns
  • Emergency medical technicians (EMTs)
  • Christian science practitioners
  • Dentists and dental hygienists
  • Coroners and medical examiners
  • Osteopaths
  • Optometrists
  • Chiropractors
  • Podiatrists
  • Psychiatrists
 5. Law Enforcement
  • Police officers
  • Peace officers, other law enforcement officials
  • District attorneys, assistant district attorneys, or investigators employed in the office of a district attorney
New York State Source: Social Services Law, Section 413